Ti sarà inviata una password tramite email.

Black Needle Noise

“Lost in Reflections”
alternative, electronic, ambient, industrial, noise, pop

Black Needle Noise Unveils 80s Retro-Style Video for ‘Neon Noir’
This Mortal Coil Founder and Legendary Producer John Fryer features on vocals

FOR FANS OF: This Mortal Coil, Delirium, Enigma, Clan of Xymox, Nine Inch Nails, The Tear Garden, Front Line Assembly, Spectra Paris, early Ministry (on ‘Neon Noir’)


“Neon Noir” by Black Needle Noise with Dr Strangefryer

... about

Legendary artist-producer John Fryer, mastermind behind the project Black Needle Noise , has unveiled the new video for ‘Neon Noir’ with Dr. Strangefryer. Just as this track is sonically rooted in the best part of 80’s synthpop, so too does the video look like a visual flashback to 80’s video technology and TV colorama music video shows with then-seemingly-futuristic computer graphics. 

Alisa Akay provides video and FX for this track, which provides a great introduction to the new Black Needle Noise album ‘Lost in Reflections’ with a solid offering of 11 tracks. Now based in L.A., John Fryer dishes up his trademark goodness and lush atmospheres with layered richness, experimental tones, effects and melodies.

“About ‘Neon Noir’, I was asked to write a theme tune for a movie set in the later 80s, they wanted something to sound electro and of the time. The lyrics were inspired by Christiane F. and B-Moive: Lust & Sound,” says John Fryer.

As one of the most innovative sonic architects of our age, “John Fryer has practically soundtracked your entire life” (Impose Magazine). His musical imprint is massive, having shaped the sound of bands from Nine Inch Nails and Cocteau Twins to HIM and Depeche Mode. He is also one of just two masterminds behind This Mortal Coil (along with Ivo Watts-Russell – not only producing, but also keyboards, strings and synthesizer sequencing). 

A sense of expectation about his music has never left him – expectations he has exceeded on this new album, his collaboration with numerous artists resulting in stunning output in ‘Lost In Reflections’, a collection of 11 tracks featuring Bill Leeb (Front Line Assembly, Delirium), Mimi Page (Delirium), Jennie Vee (also bassist in Hole), Ana Breton (Dead Leaf Echo), Omniflux (Puscifer), Kendra Frost (Kite Base), Andrea Kerr (Colt), Sivert Hoyem, ZiaLand and Dr. Strangefryer.

John Fryer speaks about the new album: “I am always surprised where the singers take the songs – they always take them higher to a new level. I never have a pre-conceived notion of where the song could go but when they send the vocals back I always get a ‘wow’ moment and shivers down the spine when I listen to what they have done and where they have taken the song. I am so eternally grateful to them all”.

John Fryer started his career in 1979 at London’s Blackwing Studios (London) and soon began working with seminal bands on the 4AD, Mute, Rough Trade and Beggars Banquet record labels, including Depeche Mode, The Wolfgang Press and Cocteau Twins. His achievement in helping develop the latter’s pioneering ethereal and ambient sound ultimately led Watts-Russell to recruit Fryer as his partner for This Mortal Coil.

He’s produced many other groundbreaking artists, including Love and Rockets, Swans, HIM, Cradle of Filth, Clan of Xymox, Nitzer Ebb, Dead Can Dance, Yaz (Yazoo), Xmal Deutschland, Fields of the Nephilim, De/Vision, Stabbing Westward, Jesus Jones, Swallow, M|A|R|R|S (A.R.Kane & Colourbox), Kristin Hersh and many others. He also produced the soundtracks to films such as Seven, Clerks, Johnny Mnemonic, Mortal Kombat, Faust and Resident Evil: Apocalypse.

The album title ‘Lost In Reflections’ is significant. “Its like day dreaming, you sit there and get lost in thought, lost in the music, it takes you away to another dimension. Stand in a room full of mirrors and your reflection goes on for ever and you can’t find the real you in there anymore, the reflections have taken over. the music conjures thoughts of things/moods that have had happened or you wish had happened or even something you hope will happen,” explains John Fryer.

"Lost in Reflections"



his album is a continuation or extension of the first Black Needle Noise album ‘Before The Tears Came’ (2016), which featured Jarboe (Swans), Elena Alice Fossi (Kirlian Camera and Spectra Paris), and Ledfoot, among others.

‘Lost in Reflections’ is available to stream on Black Needle Noise’s Bandcamp. Its release coincided with John Fryer’s joint release with David Lynch muse Chrysta Bell (also known as Special Agent Tammy Preston in the new Twin Peaks series), “paying homage to the infinitely haunting and enduring music of Twin Peaks” with a cover of ‘Falling’ by Julee Cruise, Angelo Badalamenti and David Lynch


… Black Needle Noise with Jennie Vee – “Heaven

Black Needle Noise / John Fryer

Shameless Promotion PR
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud


error: Content is protected !!